I ❤ the Self Challenge.  Every year, there are 3 months of prizes, workouts, and food tips.  Every year I give it a shot.  This year, I see it as an opportunity to erase some of the hard living I’ve done since grad school started. 

I signed up the other day, and I really like the new web layout.  None of my friends seem interested in doing it with me, but that’s alright.  I’m fired up!  I haven’t tried the strength workout yet, but, from the look of it, I will be underwhelmed.  Points in its favor for the general Self audience: this month’s workout requires no equipment. That’s right, it’s body weight only!  Points against for me: no equipment.  Not a very challenging challenge for moi…

I’m really trying to follow the calorie guidelines better than I usually do.  Cataloging my food intake has, as usual, shocked me.  (I’m still using CalorieKing.com because the Self food log is a bit clunky.  It’s better than in the past, but I really wish a lot of these food-logging sites would get together and make it better. When I tried Self’s this last time, I couldn’t enter 1/3 of a cup of canned pumpkin; 1/4, yes; 1/2, yes; but no 1/3. Why, Self?)  Today, I will be burning about 500 to 600 calories at the gym. ❤ classes! 

Breakfast: pumpkin oatmeal with 1 tsp almond butter and some pecans (approx 400 calories)

Lunch: GreenLiteBite’s taco turkey quinoa stew (I only had a little left, probably less than a cup), a TJ’s string cheese

Afternoon snack: Cashew cookie Larabar

I might have a tangerine or an apple before I hit the gym tonight; it depends on how hungry I am in an hour or so.

