I shop at a lot of grocery stores.  I have visited Safeway, QFC, Trader Joe’s, PCC Natural Market, Whole Foods, and Metropolitan Market in the last 6 months.  Oddly enough, most of the stores I often frequent only have about 5 Larabar flavors: peanut butter cookie, apple pie, cashew cookie, cherry pie, and one of the chocolate flavors.  My jealousy at other people’s enjoyment of flavors like key lime pie, gingersnap, cinnamon roll, etc, has grown and grown.  I want to try all of the flavors, damn it!

I went searching for new flavors the other day and found cinnamon roll, gingersnap, and lemon bar!  I was very, very excited.  I have been doling out these new flavors all week, and I found that, for the most part, I will be happy sticking with my favorites (cashew cookie and peanut butter).  The lemon bar was my favorite so far. Unlike the gingersnap and cinnamon roll, the “main star” flavor wasn’t overpowering!  The gingersnap was like biting into a spice cabinet, and not in a pleasant way, and the cinnamon roll was a similar experience. Plus, the gingersnap seemed…unprocessed.  It was chunkier than I normally see the bars.

The scorecard so far:

Yummy!: PB cookie, cashew cookie, lemon bar

Meh: apple pie, cinnamon roll

Ugh: cherry pie, gingersnap, chocolate-orange (Jocalat)

Not yet tried: key lime pie, pecan pie, coconut cream pie, banana bread, cocoa mole, pistachio, chocolate coconut

