A few of my friends (in a few different cities) did various breast cancer walks this weekend.  I am so proud of them for being involved!  My family just lost a dear friend who had survived breast cancer twice.  It turned up again, but this time in a different form.  She lived twenty years after her first round with the disease.  She survived twice.  Thanks to organizations like Susan G. Komen, awareness and research have been increased and improved.  But I really think that a great deal of her survival is owed to the fact that she fought like crazy to make it.  Anyway, to honor her I’ve made some donations–it’s not hard when your friends are walking 20+ miles a day, talk about fantastic–and I am making an additional one because http://goodthingscatered.blogspot.com/ is doing a GREAT donation drive that involves cookies.  Because I’m sure that her cookies are amazing, and because I don’t particularly need to eat an entire box of cookies, I’m going to share them with those who did walks recently.  (Hey, they burned a lot of calories recently!)

In other news affecting women, South Dakota is trying to pass legislation that would effectively overturn Roe v. Wade and Casey v. Planned Parenthood.  Now, I don’t care what you think about abortion, but it’s reckless to pass something like this.  It is essentially intended as a test: will the addition of Alito and Roberts to the Supreme Court mean that they can finally overturn Roe?  The law would punish physicians: what if a doctor needed to do something to save a woman’s life?  Doctors should not have their hands tied by legislatures, and women should be able to make their own decisions.   You can donate to help mobilize against this dangerous and paternalistic bill here.  Sorry about the soap box, but this kind of thing makes me so angry!

This week is hell on wheels.  A test, a class presentation, an “expert day,” work, etc.  Eek.  I was going to run last night but fell asleep on the couch instead, and tonight I’m not going to get home until 8pm.  Doh!

