I love being a strong woman.  I do a lot of things alone these days, and that’s fine. It’s definitely much easier to get out of the grocery store without someone along!  I haven’t  quite conquered going to the movies alone yet, but I might this weekend. I really want to see Mamma Mia.  And Batman of course, but that calls for another person to go, too.

The thing that sucks about living alone and working all the time is that sometimes, people forget that you exist.  It’s true: you just drop off the social consciousness.  And right now, I feel like I’m waving my arms and shouting at the top of my lungs, but my “friends” are not noticing me.

Sigh.

I know that friendships have an expiration date sometimes, but it’s disappointing to realize how short an expiration date some of my grad school friendships likely have.  Unlike so many people I’ve kept in touch with (I still write to my kindergarten teacher, bitches, TOP THAT), they just don’t seem to have the ability to maintain friendships. Or maybe it’s the interest?  I don’t know exactly what it is, but it does seem like it’s lacking.

That said, it is especially frustrating because I would love to find a new workout buddy up here.  What’s the first place you look? At your circle of friends, right?  But they are so unreliable as even “hang out for beers” I can’t imagine meeting any of them (ok, except for one or two) for workouts. 

Anyway, that’s enough of a bitch session.  I need to clean my house.  I tried a new gym today that uses a Kinesis system built into the wall–even though I’ve been doing boot camp, it was TOUGH!  Maybe I’ll write more on that another time.

